AAM Welcomes New Directors Representing U.S. Newspapers

November 7, 2017

See which directors were re-elected at AAM’s annual business meeting and get to know the new directors from the Washington Post and GateHouse Media.

Mark Wachowicz, Executive Vice President, Business Innovation

Director election results were announced during AAM’s recent annual business meeting. A list of the re-elected directors and new officers is available below. AAM also recently welcomed new directors from the Washington Post and GateHouse Media. Here’s a little more about each of them:

Gregg Fernandes, Washington Post

Gregg Fernandes, Vice President of Customer Care & Logistics, Washington Post
Gregg Fernandes joins the AAM board of directors representing U.S. newspapers. At the Washington Post, Fernandes is responsible for all aspects of print operations including overseeing production, distribution, consumer marketing, transportation and third-party affiliates. He is also responsible for customer care for digital and print readers.

Fernandes has a bachelor’s degree in behavioral science and a master’s degree in administration from the University of Maryland, College Park. He also earned a juris doctor from the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. He lives in Maryland with his wife Roslyn and their two children.


Robert Saurer, GateHouse Media


Robert Saurer, Vice President of Consumer Marketing, GateHouse Media

Robert Saurer joins the board also representing U.S. newspapers. He is a 30-year veteran of the newspaper industry with experience in consumer marketing, strategic planning, delivery operations and customer care. He joined GateHouse Media in 2014 where he focuses on standardizing and scaling corporate initiatives, and centralizing the digital and home-delivery sales operations.

Saurer earned a bachelor’s degree in engineering from Rutgers University. He resides in Boston where he is an avid sailor and heavily involved in community affairs. 


2018 Board Officers and Re-Elections

The following individuals were re-elected to the AAM board and will serve two-year terms:

U.S. Advertisers  

  • Christopher H. Daly, Macy’s Marketing
  • Christina Meringolo, Bayer Consumer Care
  • David K. Ronk, ll, JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Canadian Advertising Agency  

  • Edward W. (Ted) Boyd, Current International Inc.

U. S. Advertising Agencies  

  • Scott Kruse, GroupM
  • David P. Murphy, Novus Media Inc.
  • Brenda White, Starcom Worldwide

U.S. Consumer Magazines  

  • Liberta Abbondante, Hearst Magazines

Canadian Periodicals  

  • Steve Maich, Rogers Media Inc.

Canadian Newspapers  

  • Phillip Crawley, The Globe and Mail

U.S. Newspapers 

  • Daniel Schaub, McClatchy

The following individuals were also elected officers of the board:

2018 AAM Board of Directors Officers:

  • Chairman of the Board: Edward W. Boyd (Advertising Agency Director)
  • Vice Chairman: Phillip Crawley (Representing Canadian Clients)
  • Vice Chairman: Christopher H. Daly (Representing Advertisers)
  • Vice Chairman: Scott Kruse (Representing Advertising Agencies)
  • Vice Chairman: Dan Schaub (Representing Publishers)
  • Secretary: David K. Ronk II (Advertiser Director)
  • Treasurer: Liberta Abbondante (Magazine Director)

Visit AAM’s website for a full list of AAM directors.

Previous Article
Media Intelligence Center Usage Is Up and We Know Why [Infographic]
Media Intelligence Center Usage Is Up and We Know Why [Infographic]

Last year we opened access to the Media Intelligence Center to all AAM clients. Check out this infographic ...

Next Article
Brand View Profiles: London Review of Books, Baltimore Business Journal and Tennessean
Brand View Profiles: London Review of Books, Baltimore Business Journal and Tennessean

See how magazines, newspapers and business publications use Brand View to increase visibility in AAM’s Medi...


Stay on top of industry trends with AAM's Buy/Sell Connection newsletter

First Name
Last Name
Company Name
Thank you!
Error - something went wrong!